76 Canada Year Book 1978-79

Daniel Aiken Lang William Moore Benidickson, PC Douglas Keith Davey Andrew Ernest Thompson Keith Laird Richard James Stanbury Eugene A. Forsey George James McIlraith, PC John James Greene, PC Joan Neiman John Morrow Godfrey Royce Frith Peter Bosa Stanley Haidasz, PC Florence Bayard Bird

Manitoba Paul Yuzyk Douglas Donald Everett Gildas L. Molgat William C. McNamara Duff Roblin, PC Joseph-Philippe Guay, PC

Saskatchewan Alexander Hamilton McDonald Hazen Robert Argue Herbert O. Sparrow Sidney L. Buckwold David Gordon Steuart 1 vacancy

Alberta Donald Cameron Earl Adam Hastings Harry William Hays, PC Ernest C. Manning, PC Horace Andrew (Bud) Olson, PC 1 vacancy

British Columbia Ann Elizabeth Bell Edward M. Lawson George Clifford van Roggen Guy Williams Raymond J. Perrault, PC Jack Austin

Yukon Territory Paul Lucier

Northwest Territories Willie Adams.

The principal positions in the Senate are occupied as follows: Speaker of the Senate, Hon. Renaude Lapointe; Leader of the Government in the Senate, Hon. Raymond J. Perrault, PC; Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, Hon. Jacques Flynn, PC. The principal officer of the Senate is Mr. Robert Fortier, QC, Clerk of the Senate and Clerk of the Parliaments.

The House of Commons. Following the 1971 Census the number of members in the House of Commons was determined by the representation commissioner in accordance with Section 51 of the British North America Act, with the total representation at 264.

The readjustment of the federal electoral districts was carried out during 1972 and 1973 in accordance with the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act. The last of 10 reports was submitted to the Commons in July 1973. After debate it was agreed to suspend the readjustment until January 1, 1975. To this effect, Bill C-208 Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Suspension Act was given royal assent on July 27, 1973.

On December 20, 1974 royal assent was given to the Representation Act, 1974 which removed the temporary suspension of the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act and provided for representation in the Commons under a revised formula awarding each province the following number of members: Ontario 95, Quebec 75, British Columbia 28, Alberta 21, Manitoba 14, Saskatchewan 14, Nova Scotia 11, New Brunswick 10, Newfoundland seven, Prince Edward Island four, the Northwest Territories two and the Yukon Territory one. The revised number of members in the House of Commons, following the next general election, would be 282.

The number of representatives of each province elected at each of the 30 general elections since Confederation is given in Table 3.3. Historical data concerning representation may be found in the *Canada Year Book 1973*.

Salaries, allowances and pensions. Members of the Senate and House of Commons receive sessional allowances of \$26,900 per annum. This rate is subject to an annual adjustment based on the industrial composite index or 7%, whichever is less. For each session of Parliament, they may also be paid such travelling expenses between their home or constituency and Ottawa as may be required to perform their duties. A senator receives an annual expense allowance of \$5,900 and a member of the House of Commons receives an expense allowance of \$12,000 to \$15,875 dependent upon the